Main Office: 23-31 Waring Street, Belfast
(028) 9089 0202

Supporting LGBTQ+ People in Northern Ireland

ABOUT CARA-FRIEND

Cara-Friend was established in 1974 as a voluntary counseling, befriending, information, health and social space organisation for the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Trans (LGB&T) community. Since then we have established ourselves as one of the most encompassing organisations in Northern Ireland, bringing together all ages, all genders and sexual orientations under one umbrella. We advocate unceasingly on behalf of the LGB&T community with the media, churches, government departments and politicians alike.

There are many reasons why someone might contact us, but whatever the reason, our volunteers are trained and understanding and will offer confidence and support to anyone concerned about sexuality and sexual orientation, including parents and families of LGB&T people.

An additional part of our work is to educate and inform the public, and we are pleased to provide speakers at meetings of other organisations.

All of the services we provide are completely confidential.

If you think we can help you, your family, your organisation, or anyone else, please do contact us!

MEET THE TEAM

We offer support through our different services including LGBT Switchboard NI, Cara-Friend LGBT Youth, Family Ties Project and through our free counselling services.

STAFF TEAM

Steve Williamson
Director

steve@cara-friend.org.uk

Declan Meehan
Deputy Director & Youth Development Manager

declan.meehan@cara-friend.org.uk

Adam Murray
Community Development Manager & Office Manager

adam@cara-friend.org.uk

Joanne McParland
Regional Youth Development Officer

joanne.mcparland@cara-friend.org.uk

Lee Cullen
Youth Officer

lee.cullen@cara-friend.org.uk

Shauna Devenney
Youth Officer (Out North West)

shauna.devenney@cara-friend.org.uk

Colleen O’Neill
Youth Officer (Out North West)

colleen.oneill@cara-friend.org.uk

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Matt Leebody
Chair of the Board

matt@cara-friend.org.uk

Niall Gillespie
Treasurer

niall.gillespie@cara-friend.org.uk

Colin Flinn
Secretary

colin.flinn@cara-friend.org.uk

Sonya McMullan
Director

Sean O’Neill
Director

sean.oneill@cara-friend.org.uk

If you are distressed or require help and support out-of-hours, please contact Lifeline on 0808 808 8000. Lines open 24/7

WORK FOR CARA-FRIEND

There are no current job vacancies at this time…..
However, we periodically have vacancies for volunteering positions.